Cambridge IGCSE_Dummy

Cambridge IGCSE

The Cambridge IGCSE programme started in 1988 and is offered by CAIE (Cambridge Assessment International Education, UK).

CAIE prepares school students for life, helping them develop an informed curiosity and a lasting passion for learning. It helps improve student performance by developing skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving.

Cambridge IGCSE is one of the world’s most popular international qualifications for 14 to 16 year olds. It is a proven curriculum and is accepted in all Pre-university colleges in India and abroad.

Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:

Subject content

Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as familiar situations

Intellectual enquiry

Flexibility and responsiveness to change

Working and communicating in English

Influencing outcomes

Cultural awareness

Cambridge offers over 70 subjects including 30 languages. Schools can offer the subjects in different combinations depending upon the requirements and around how they want their students to learn, helping them discover new abilities and a wider world.

IGCSE is designed to be taught as a two-year course for students in grades 9 & 10. The examination is typically taken at the end of two years, in Grade 10. Final examinations can be taken in March and/or June with results coming in May and August respectively.



The IGCSE programme at SNIS encourages learners to engage with a variety of subjects which builds a pathway towards their interests, abilities and career choice. We also facilitate students to become lifelong learners in their thinking, attitude and actions.

The various skills like creative and critical thinking, research skills, problem solving skills etc. are developed in IGCSE helping students to have a smooth transition to IBDP and University life.

The Question Paper patterns and Paper components focusing on various skills and content act as the springboard for advanced study and equip the learners to do well in IBDP and beyond.

IGCSE Curriculum

Five Subject Groups of IGCSE

Group 1: Languages
Group 2: Humanities
Group 3: Sciences
Group 4: Mathematics
Group 5: Creative and Vocational

A student who takes examinations in a minimum of 5 subjects qualifies for the IGCSE certificate. The ICE Certification (International Certificate of Education) is awarded by the CIE for the recommended combination of 7 subjects in the IGCSE examinations.

IGCSE Subjects offered at SNIS

*Subject availability depends on number of takers for each subject period Based on student ability,
they are given the choice of taking a subject at the Core or Extended level.

What is the difference
between IGCSE Core
and IGCSE Extended?

To take into account differing abilities, there is a choice between Core and Extended curriculum papers in some subjects.

The Core curriculum is within the ability range of a large majority of students. It provides a full overview of the subject and is targeted at students expected to achieve grades C to G.

The Extended curriculum has been designed for the more academically able. It is targeted at those expected to achieve grades A* to E.

Cambridge ICE Award

Cambridge ICE (International Certificate in Education) is a group award for Cambridge IGCSE. The subjects offered at SNIS cater to the Cambridge ICE award.

It allows schools to offer a broad and balanced curriculum by recognising the achievements of learners who pass examinations in at least seven Cambridge IGCSE subjects from five different subject groups (One from each of the groups 2 to 5) and two different languages (from Group 1)

At the successful completion of the course, the students who have the ICE subjects will receive a separate ICE award certificate. ICE certificates show the level achieved in the ICE group award:

  • DISTINCTION is awarded if a student obtains grade A(a) or above in five subjects and grade C(c) or above in two further subjects;
  • MERIT is awarded if a student obtains grade C(c) or above in five subjects and grade F(f) or above in two further subjects;
  • PASS is awarded if a student obtains grade G(g) or above in seven subjects.
Apply for Merit Scholarships